Home » Uncategorized » Google Glass – I won’t make my hands free at the cost of putting “something” on my eyes!

Google Glass – I won’t make my hands free at the cost of putting “something” on my eyes!

I was aware of Google Glass project but recently stumbled across Sergey Brin’s talk at TED (http://www.ted.com/talks/sergey_brin_why_google_glass.html) and also visited Glass site at Google (http://www.google.com/glass/start/). It is an interesting project, no doubt about that but was wondering whether I myself would buy the pair of glasses to put on the top of the ones I already wear for daily life :). I did search for what is the solution from Google’s side for this problem and found that Google is working on a prototype and will fit the prescription pair of glasses. Cool, but still I would like to mention “my” top 8 reasons why I would probably (?) not buy Google Glasses for myself.

1. I did not find the existing version attractive and would not make my hands free at the cost of putting something on my head/eyes/ears

2. I don’t like contacts and will continue with my pair of glasses and though Google support prescription glasses, won’t feel comfortable adding something so close to my pupil and complicate my eyesight probably (computer vision syndrome).

3. I don’t lift big boxes and don’t fly on the swing so will be happy with playing with my mobile phones (different form factors, different OS, different experiences) with both my hands.

4. I cannot imagine sitting at starbucks and wearing this gadget and smiling or talking when other people look at me as if I am doing something weird :)… I know people will accept it over the period of time but I still find it odd.

5. Some discussions around Google Glass privacy invasion issues are still going on. (http://www.policymic.com/articles/29585/3-new-ways-google-glass-invades-your-privacy). These are important aspects and more clarity is absolutely must. I would not find it comfortable to wear these pair of Glasses by compromising privacy.

6. Cost is too high (at least for me) – it is $1500 at the moment when developers are testing it. By 2014 when they are out, I assume it will be approximately same or even more.

7. Even if cost goes down, why would someone lock to the same device when people like changing their devices every year or alternate year for some or other reason. (http://www.droid-life.com/2013/02/05/tuesday-poll-how-often-do-you-upgrade-phones/)

8. I cannot fold the Glass and put it in my pocket or case.

What else? I am not finding reasons for not adopting it and if either Google or someone has better suggestions for adopting it in much sensible way, I will change my mind. But for time being, I have big NO to Google Glass.

11 Comments

  1. Anonymous says:

    Every technology adaption takes time this one also not an exception
    Once people see benefit even for fantasy with their curiosity people will try this
    Google one way or other way will roll the ball with big hype
    As like everyone I like their demo on google glass

  2. Selvakumar Palaniraj says:

    MAY 29, 2013 AT 5:59 AM
    Every technology adaption takes time this one also not an exception
    Once people see benefit even for fantasy with their curiosity people will try this
    Google one way or other way will roll the ball with big hype
    As like everyone I like their demo on google glass

  3. Sandeep Deb says:

    “I cannot imagine sitting at starbucks and wearing this gadget and smiling or talking when other people look at me as if I am doing something weird ” – ๐Ÿ˜€ can’t stop laughing at the visualization.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Agree Sandeep …..and especially if its Swarraj ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Anonymous says:

    Have you tried glass personally?

  6. swarrajk says:

    No, I have not tried Google Glass personally. Before I buy it for myself, wanted to learn what it is and what I can do with it. I would like to know someone’s first hand experience though.Based on what I have understood so far, my reaction is NO to use it ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Praveen Jayakumar says:

    Probably they should ban it in restroom too http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/05/17/at-google-conference-even-cameras-in-the-bathroom/ ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. swarrajk says:

    At mashable.com, the recent survey talks about why people would not go and buy Google Glass –

    http://mashable.com/2013/06/15/google-glass-survey/

Leave a Reply

